October 1, 2008


Ballots for the AIBS Board elections have been mailed; members can also vote online at www.aibs.org/vote.

At the end of 2008, the following positions become vacant on the 13-person AIBS Board of Directors: (a) president-elect and (b) one board seat from the AIBS membership-at-large. (Board elections by the Council of AIBS Member Societies and Organizations are also under way at this time through a separate ballot.) The president-elect serves a one-year term and automatically succeeds to a one-year term as president, then a one-year term as immediate past-president. Board members serve three-year terms. The Nominating Committee has prepared the following slate, listed alphabetically by category, for your attention and consideration. All terms start on 1 January 2009.


  • Lynda Delph, Indiana University

  • Joe Travis, Florida State University

Board member elected by the membership-at-large

  • Robert Christian, East Carolina University (running for reelection)

  • Charles Nilon, University of Missouri-Columbia

Board member elected from the Council

  • Eric Nagy, University of Virginia (running for reelection)

  • Elizabeth Zimmer, Smithsonian Institution

To cast your vote, please go to the online ballot at www.aibs.org/vote and sign in with your last name and six-digit AIBS membership number (as it appears on your AIBS membership card and on the BioScience mailing label; for assistance, contact AIBS at adm...@aibs.org, 703-790-1745 or 800-992-2427). A paper ballot has also been mailed to all members; if you prefer to use that ballot, please complete it and mail it to AIBS. The polls close on 10 October 2008.

AIBS thanks all of the candidates for their dedication and willingness to run for these voluntary positions. Biographical sketches and election statements are included with the online and paper ballots.

Bookmark and Share

Trending News

Publication News

Latest Twitter


Subscribe to our newsletter, sent out every month.