January 1, 2009


The AIBS Public Policy Office (PPO) is pleased to announce that the American Arachnological Society (AAS) is the newest scientific society to become a supporter of the PPO. The AAS's financial contribution to the PPO will help AIBS maintain staffing and access to the resources and tools necessary to continue to build a policy program that represents the interests of the biological sciences.

The AAS was founded in August 1972 to promote the study of arachnids, to achieve closer cooperation and understanding between amateur and professional arachnologists, and to publish the Journal of Arachnology. The society also sponsors annual meetings and cooperates with other professional societies. Membership is open to all people interested in the society's objectives.

"There was overwhelming support from the executive committee to join this effort and to send a contribution to support the AIBS Public Policy Office," said Paula Cushing, of the Denver Museum of Nature and Science, and president of the AAS.

Robert Gropp, director of the PPO, said: "We are thrilled to have the arachnologists joining as a new supporter of the PPO. They join 15 other leading biology societies and research organizations in providing targeted funding to help support the myriad of policy and media activities that AIBS conducts each day."

The AIBS PPO welcomes the opportunity to partner with other AIBS member societies. For information about how your society may become a supporter of the AIBS PPO, please contact AIBS by e-mail (publ...@aibs.org). Individuals may also support the efforts of the PPO by making a targeted contribution when renewing their individual AIBS membership. For details, please visit www.aibs.org.

Bookmark and Share

Trending News

Publication News

Latest Twitter


Subscribe to our newsletter, sent out every month.