October 5, 2018


The American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS) extends its congratulations to Dr. Frances H. Arnold, a recipient of the 2018 Nobel Prize in Chemistry. Dr. Arnold has previously participated on a peer review panel that AIBS organized on behalf of the Department of Defense to assess a funded research program.

Ill. Niklas Elmehed. © Nobel Media

Dr. Arnold is sharing the chemistry prize with with Dr. George P. Smith and Dr. Gregory P. Winte for the first directed evolution of enzymes. The research has led to "more environmentally friendly manufacturing of chemical substances such as pharmaceuticals and the production of renewable fuels."

Dr. Arnold is the first female American to win this prize in Chemistry in its 117 year history.

Bookmark and Share