

RECOGNIZING EXCEPTIONAL GRADUATE STUDENTS EMERGING PUBLIC POLICY LEADERSHIP AWARD

Since 2003, the American Institute of Biological Sciences has recognized outstanding graduate students with the Emerging Public Policy Leadership Award. The award is presented to current Master's and doctoral students who have demonstrated initiative and leadership in science policy.

Recipients obtain first-hand experience at the interface of science and public policy through their participation in the AIBS Congressional Visits Day. Award winners receive an expensepaid trip to Washington, DC, where they are trained in public policy and communication. They also meet with federal policymakers to discuss investments in the biological sciences.

Past award winners are currently working in congressional offices, federal science agencies, and non-governmental organizations. Many remain engaged in public policy, either through their job or through involvement with professional societies.

CC

Receiving the Emerging Public Policy Leadership Award was an enormously rewarding experience for me. I learned practical tips for communicating with policymakers, the media, and the general public. I could immediately apply these strategies to a full day of congressional meetings to advocate for increased science funding. This experience was a powerful way to hone my skills as a communicator, which will continue to directly benefit my career as a scientist.

—Brian Lovett, Ph.D. 2019 Award Recipient

99

The program has been so successful that other scientific societies have initiated similar programs modeled on the AIBS award. The network of Emerging Public Policy Leadership Award winners is growing. AIBS remains in contact with past winners in an effort to build a stronger national science policy community.

EMERGING PUBLIC POLICY LEADERSHIP AWARD WINNERS

Year Name

2.	02/	Alex Rich	Yale University
		Efraín Rodríguez-Ocasio	University of Wisconsin–Madison
		Mohammad Inam Jameel	University of Georgia
		Elena Suglia	California State Water Resources Control Board
		Heidi Waite	University of California, Irvine
		Michael McCloy	Texas A&M University
		Shyla Finley	DaVita Kidney Care
		Karl Palmquist	Sierra Club
		Renee Collini	The Water Institute
2	020	Corinn Rutkoski	USDA Natural Resource Conservation Service
2	019	Brian Lovett	West Virginia University
		Barbara Del Castello	RAND
2	018	Joanna Bairzin	Genentech
2	018	Karena Nguyen	Georgia Institute of Technology
2	017	Stephanie Bora	BOLDSCIENCE
2	016	Julia Omotade	Association of American Medical Colleges
2	015	Taylor Herren	Soil Carbon Initiative
2	015	Kellyann Jones-Jamtgaard	National Institute of Food and Agriculture
2	014	Andrew Adrian	National Aeronautics and Space Administration
2	014	Amalia Almada	University of Southern California Sea Grant Program
2	013	Jennifer Rood	Genentech
		Paul Tanger	Bayer
		Andrew Reinmann	CUNY Advanced Science Research Center
		Lida Beninson	National Academies
		Wesley Brooks	State of Florida
		Meredith Niles	University of Vermont
		Ryan Richards	Center for American Progress
		Leslie Smith	Dive into the Ocean, Inc.
		Adam Roddy	Florida International University
		Anna Ibarra	InterAmerican Institute for Global Change Research
		Cheryl Logan	California State University, Monterey Bay
		Caroline Ridley	U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
		Amber Szoboszlai	North Bay Organizing Project
		Sarah Wright	Stanford University School of Medicine
		Madhura Kulkarni	Northern Kentucky University
		Christopher Hofmann	U.S. State Department
		Karen Laughlin	Stolte Family Foundation
		Allison Vogt	National Audubon Society
2	004	Heidi Weiskel	Environmental Law Alliance Worldwide

Current Employer

BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES

CC

This award gave me the opportunity to learn more about the political landscape surrounding science policy while also getting hands-on experience communicating with policy makers. Looking forward to a career as a scientist in science policy, this program was instrumental for me to learn and hone my communication skills.

—Heidi Waite 2022 Award Recipient



U.S. Senator Roger Wicker (seated second from left) meets with 2016 winner Julia Omotade (seated first from left) and other Congressional Visits Day participants.



U.S. Representative Kevin Yoder (second from right) meets with 2015 winner Kellyann Jones–Jamtgaard (second from left) and other Congressional Visits Day participants.

This experience gave me insight into the realities of politics and diplomacy. I learned that effective communication with policymakers requires knowledge of the federal budget and the impacts a policy will have on their constituents. This positive and challenging experience solidified my goal of working in science policy and inspired me to apply for more policy opportunities.

—Lida Beninson, Ph.D. 2012 Award Recipient

99

AMERICAN INSTITUTE OF BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES 950 HERNDON PARKWAY SUITE 450 HERNDON, VA 20170 UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

WWW.AIBS.ORG +1.703.674.2500