December 21, 2015

The Honorable Harold Rogers
2406 Rayburn House Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Nita Lowey
2365 Rayburn House Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Thad Cochran
113 Dirksen Senate Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Barbara Mikulski
503 Hart Senate Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20510

On behalf of the undersigned coalitions, which represent over 500 combined member organizations--incorporating the voices of industry, scientists, and higher education in the United States--we write to thank the Congress for making strong investments in America's innovation ecosystem one of its highest priorities. The FY 2016 omnibus appropriations bill would increase federal research funding by 5.4 percent above FY 2015 levels, providing an even larger increase than the Bipartisan Budget Act provided for discretionary spending. This robust investment in federal research provides much needed fuel for the engine of the American economy, our innovation ecosystem.

By providing real growth for federal investments in research, you have made an important step toward "renewing the federal commitment to scientific discovery," one of several critical steps outlined in the statement Innovation: An American Imperative (see attached) recently endorsed by over 300 organizations from all fifty states representing American industry, higher education, science, and engineering, and a group of senior corporate leaders.

We look forward to continuing to work with you to ensure our nation's economy, health, and national security will prosper for many years in the future.


Dustin Todd
Co-Chair, Task Force on American Innovation

Nick Saab and Frank Slazer
Co-chairs, Coalition for Aerospace and Science

John Latini
Chair, Coalition for National Security Research

Paul Doucette and Chris Carter
Co-chairs, Energy Science Coalition

Sam Rankin
Chair, Coalition for National Science Funding

Jack Cline
President-Elect, The Science Coalition

Jennifer Poulakidas, Time Fenton, and David Pugach
Co-Presidents, United for Medical Research

Juliane Baron
Chair, Friends of the Institute for Education Sciences

Karl Anderson, Meghan O'Brien, and Juli Obudzinski
Co-chairs, Agrigulture and Food Research Initiative Coalition

R. Thomas Van Arsdall
Executive Director, National Coalition for Food and Agriculture

Alison Mize and Robert Gropp
Co-chairs, Biological and Ecological Sciences Coalition

Julie Palakovich Carr and Elizabeth Duffy
Co-chairs, USGS Coalition

David Moore
Executive Director, Ad Hoc Group for Medical Research

Read more AIBS Position Statements

Bookmark and Share