The full Democratic Caucus unanimously approved Representative Bart Gordon's (D-TN) nomination for the chairmanship of the House Committee on Science for the 110th Congress. The chairman-designate said, "Under my leadership, the Science Committee will be the committee of 'good ideas.' We will be reaching out to individuals and groups on the Hill and off to participate at every opportunity, share their ideas and work with our Committee to assure America's competitiveness in the world." Representative Ralph Hall (R-TX) will serve as the senior Republican member on the committee. Representative David Obey (D-WI) will chair the Appropriations Committee under the new Democrat leadership in the House.

Representative Nick Rahall (D-WV.) will chair the House Committee on Resources in the 110th Congress and Representative John Dingell (D-MI) will take over the Committee on Energy and Commerce. Representative Rahall stated, " Chairman of the Resources Committee, I will oversee sound conservation that will ensure that families can enjoy the grandeur of our National Parks, while also safeguarding opportunities for hunting, fishing and other outdoor recreation."


back to Public Policy Reports

Bookmark and Share