President Bush has nominated seven scientists to serve on the National Science Board (NSB), a group of advisors to the President and Congress on science, engineering, and education policy issues. The names were sent to the Senate for confirmation. After confirmation, board members will serve a six-year term. The NSB consists of 24 members who serve six-year terms, with one-third of the board being appointed every two years.

Of the seven nominees, three members are reappointments. The seven nominees include Barry C. Barish of California (reappointment), Ray M. Bowen of Texas (reappointment), and Douglas D. Randall of Missouri (reappointment), France A. Córdova of Indiana, Esin Gulari of South Carolina, G. P. "Bud" Peterson of Colorado, and Diane L. Souvaine of Massachusetts.


back to Public Policy Reports

Bookmark and Share