The Senate Environment and Public Works Committee has restructured its subcommittees to reflect priorities in the 111th Congress. The committee now includes seven subcommittees. Senator Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI) will chair the Oversight Subcommittee, Senator Amy Klobuchar (D-MN) is in charge of the Subcommittee on Children’s Health, Senator Ben Cardin (D-MD) will lead the Water and Wildlife Subcommittee, Senator Max Baucus (D-MT) will oversee the Transportation and Infrastructure Subcommittee, Senator Frank Lautenberg (D-NJ) will head the Subcommittee on Superfund, Toxics, and Environmental Health, Senator Tom Carper (D-DE) will chair the Subcommittee on Clean Air and Nuclear Safety, and Senator Bernie Sanders (I-VT) will head the Green Jobs and the New Economy Subcommittee.

Senator Barbara Boxer (D-CA), chairwoman of the full committee said that “a central focus of this Committee will be economic recovery and job creation.” Boxer also stated that the committee “will also continue our work on global warming legislation.” In addition, she stated that global warming and National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) issues will be handled at the full committee level.

Senator James Inhofe (R-OK), the ranking Republican on the committee, expressed his desire to see the committee address, including reauthorization of the highway bill, the Economic Development Administration (EDA), and the Water Resources Development Act (WRDA). With respect to climate change legislation, Inhofe said “while I remain opposed to the regulation of CO2, I am committed to ensuring that any cap-and-trade proposal will protect workers and families from higher energy prices, will have realistic targets that reflect levels of reachable technology, and will be global in nature.”

Boxer and Inhofe also welcomed new members to the committee, including Senator Tom Udall (D-NM) and Senator Jeff Merkley (D-OR).


back to Public Policy Reports

Bookmark and Share