The National Science Board is seeking nominations for individuals and groups who have made substantial contributions to increasing public understanding and appreciation for science and engineering. The Public Service Award honors one individual and one group each year in May for their work in mass media, education, and/or training programs. Past recipients have included Ira Flatow, host of NPR’s “Science Friday”; the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation; Bill Nye, The Science Guy; and NOVA, the PBS television series. Nominations are due by 4 November 2009. To make a nomination or for more information, please visit


back to Public Policy Reports

Bookmark and Share