Representatives Jim Moran (D-VA) and Mike Simpson (R-ID) were presented with the annual USGS Coalition Leadership Award at a congressional reception on 20 September 2010. They were honored for their continuing support for the United States Geological Survey (USGS). The reception is an annual event sponsored by the USGS Coalition.

Representative Moran is the Chairman of the House Appropriations Subcommittee on Interior and Environment and Representative Simpson is the Ranking Member. In addition to the awards, the USGS Coalition reception highlighted research, information sharing, and services provided by the USGS. This year, nearly 200 individuals representing scientific societies, government agencies, and congressional offices attended the reception.

“The USGS Coalition is pleased to honor Representatives Moran and Simpson,” said Dr. Robert Gropp, co-chair of the USGS Coalition and AIBS director of public policy. “They understand how important USGS science is to the nation and that funding for the USGS is an investment that pays returns in the form of improved public safety from natural hazards, wise ecosystem management, and improved conservation of biological diversity. Indeed, the USGS is much more than the science agency for the Department of the Interior. Data and products developed by the USGS and its highly skilled workforce are vital to our economy and can help drive the development of new products and markets.”


back to Public Policy Reports

Bookmark and Share