On 16 September 2014, the USGS Coalition honored Senators Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Ron Wyden (D-OR), Mark Udall (D-CO), and Dean Heller (R-NV) with the Coalition’s 2014 Leadership Award. The awards were presented during the USGS Coalition’s annual reception on Capitol Hill in honor of the lawmakers long standing support for the scientific programs and personnel of the United States Geological Survey (USGS).

AIBS is a founding member of the USGS Coalition and AIBS director of public policy Robert Gropp is chair of the group. In addition to remarks by Senator Heller and staff for Senators Murkowski and Udall, two senior Interior officials spoke. Anne Castle, who just resigned from her post, was the assistant secretary for water and science at the Department of the Interior. Suzette Kimball, acting director of the USGS, thanked the Senators and the USGS Coalition for the years of effort they have given to elevating the profile of the USGS among policymakers.


back to Public Policy Reports

Bookmark and Share