The AIBS Public Policy Review Committee, whose membership includes representatives from AIBS societies and organizations that are funding the AIBS Public Policy Office (PPO) at the Participant level or above serves in an advisory capacity. The committee is asked to (1) provide the PPO with guidance in identifying experts to serve as witnesses in Congressional testimony, and as participants in Congressional briefings and similar activities; (2) assist the PPO in crafting public policy/position statements that reflect the concerns of the biological sciences community and current scientific knowledge; (3) serve as a communication conduit for public policy matters between AIBS and the society or organization that the member represents on the committee; and (4) work with the PPO in preparing periodic reports to the AIBS Board.

Committee Chair

Society of Systematic Biologists

Keith Crandall, George Washington University

Committee Members

American Society of Ichthyologists and Herpetologists

Al Savitzky, Utah State University

Carole Baldwin, Smithsonian Institution

Association of Ecosystem Research Centers

Todd Crowl, Florida International University

Botanical Society of America

Krissa Skogen, Chicago Botanic Garden

Kal Tuominen, Metro State University

Organization of Biological Field Stations

Paul Foster, Bijagual Ecological Reserve

Society for Integrative and Comparative Biology

Molly Jacobs, McDaniel College

Society for the Study of Evolution

Sally (Sarah) Otto, University of British Columbia

Society of Wetland Scientists

Dennis F. Whigham

Staff Liaison:

Robert Gropp
American Institute of Biological Sciences

Ex Officio:

Joseph Travis
AIBS President
Florida State University

Bookmark and Share

Trending News

Latest Twitter


Subscribe to our newsletter, sent out every month.