The American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS) announced today the election results for its next Board of Directors. The new Board is a mix of continuing Board members from 2013 and new members added for 2014. The Board governs the 66-year-old scientific association, headquartered in Reston, Virginia, with a science policy office in Washington, DC.

The current Board will hold its final meeting in Washington, DC on December 5, 2013. The following day, AIBS will hold its annual meeting of the AIBS Council of Member Organizations in conjunction with an exciting new Leadership in Biology Program-- a day-long dialogue with leading life scientists about the needs and opportunities of 21st century biology. The new Board will take office on January 1, 2014.

AIBS provides the biological sciences community and various government and non-government clients with services and programs ranging from scientific peer-review of grant programs to various initiatives in undergraduate science education, science policy, and scientific communications; including publication of the highly regarded science journal BioScience.

The 2014 AIBS Board of Directors is:

Dr. Joseph Travis of Florida State University

Vice President:
Dr. Karen Schmaling of Washington State University

Dr. Judith Skog of George Mason University

Dr. John Tobin of Credit Suisse

Board members:

  • Dr. John Burris of the Burroughs Wellcome Fund
  • Dr. James Collins of Arizona State University
  • Dr. Muriel Poston of Pitzer College
  • Dr. Susan Stafford of the University of Minnesota
  • Dr. Michael Cato of Vassar College
  • Dr. Eric Nagy of the University of Virginia
  • Dr. Alan Savitzky of Utah State University
  • Dr. Charles Fenster of the University of Maryland
  • Dr. David M. Leslie, Jr. of the Oklahoma Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit
  • Dr. Steward Pickett of the Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies
  • Dr. Teri C. Balser of the University of Florida


back to Public Policy Reports

Bookmark and Share